What are your Eyeballs Worth?

Posted on July 9, 2011

8


I have a Kindle and I’m a huge fan of it. I’ve tried reading from a Nook and from an iPad and I much prefer the e-Ink technology utilized by the Kindle. It’s much easier on the eyes and there’s no glare.

Now I see that they are selling a Kindle with “Special Offers.” This version is $25 cheaper then the regular version.  So instead of paying $139 for the regular ol’ Kindle you can get a Kindle for $114 that has sponsored screen savers. On the regular Kindle you get screen savers featuring historical characters or beautiful scenery and on the new Kindle you could see an advertisement for Visa.

I don’t know about you but saving $25 doesn’t seem to be enough to invite advertisements into my book. On the upside, Kindle has created a new app (and a website launching shortly) that allows you o indicate which type of sponsored screensavers you would prefer to see. If Kindle has the audacity to include advertisements with reading, I would think they would have come in at a stronger more persuasive price point. Maybe $99 for the Kindle with Special offers.

What are your eyeballs worth? Would you choose to save $25 and have the advertisements or would you go for the regular Kindle?

Does anyone have the Kindle with Special Offers? If so, what has your experience been with it?

Posted in: Emerging Media